Board of Adjustment


The Zoning Board of Adjustment consists of seven members, each serving a five-year term. This board serves as an appeal body concerning zoning decisions in Johnston. The Board meets on the third Thursday of each month, or as needed, at 6:30 p.m. at Johnston City Hall.

 The primary duties of the board include:

  • Grant variances from the terms of the City’s Zoning Ordinance
  • Grant conditional use permits
  • Conduct hearings of appeals of administrative interpretations pertaining to the City’s Zoning Ordinance
  • Convenes as the Board of Appeals as necessary.

You can view the meeting schedule (PDF) and agendas and minutes online. Once you are on the Board Docs page, click on the building in the upper right-hand corner to view the appropriate board and commission agenda. 

Board of Adjustment members

There are seven members, each serving a five-year term.
  • Bruce Ostrander, term expires June 30, 2024
  • Dave Weber, term expires June 30, 2028
  • Julie Scott, term expires June 30, 2026
  • Keith Weggen, term expires June 30, 2027
  • Lindsey Wanderscheid, term expires June 30, 2027
  • Matthew Mull, term expires June 30, 2026
  • Merika Merrill, term expires June 30, 2025
  • Suresh Reddy, Council Liaison


The Board of Adjustment includes seven members, each having a five year term:
To contact any member of the Board of Adjustment, please contact city staff at 515-727-7765.

The image below provides application deadline dates and when the meetings occur.

BOA 2024